APPCOG welcomes three new officers

On the 22nd January, the All-Party Parliamentary Carbon Monoxide Group (APPCOG) hosted its Annual General Meeting. The APPCOG is thrilled to welcome three new Officers: Chris Bryant MP, Andrew Selous MP, and Sir Peter Bottomley MP.

The existing Co-chairs (Barry Sheerman MP and Baroness Finlay of Llandaff) and officers were all unanimously re-elected, with the exception of Ian Lucas MP as he did not stand during the 2019 General election

As well as holding their election, the officers also agreed to a work-plan leading to June 2020:

  • The APPCOG is excited to launch its next Parliamentary inquiry into the safety of social care, entitled 'Carbon monoxide: Safeguarding carers, supporting communities';

  • We will continue working with the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government, as they prepare to release the Social Housing White Paper and decision on the carbon monoxide (CO) alarm review;

  • 2020 marks the last year of RIIO-2's development and we will continue engaging with Ofgem to ensure CO safety is thoroughly addressed;

  • We will explore how the emerging direct-booking accommodation sector is affecting CO safety in our upcoming roundtable; and

  • Lastly, we are looking to use our gathering power to bring together the CO industry and festival providers to improve the messaging of CO safety at festivals in Summer 2020. If you have worked on this before, or know someone who has, info [at] (subject: CO%20safety%20at%20festivals) (please email us).

The APPCOG wants to take this opportunity thank all our Parliamentarians, associate members and supporters for their work in the past 12 months. We are incredibly excited to see what 2020 and this new Parliament has in store for CO safety.