User login

APPG on Data Analytics is Launched!

APPG on Data Analytics is Launched!

1st November 2016

A new All-Party Parliamentary Group on Data Analytics (APGDA) was launched at an event in Portcullis House, chaired by Daniel Zeichner MP the group promises to be a hub for 'Big Data' policy activities in Westminster.

The event was opened by Daniel Zeichner MP, followed by a keynote speech by Lauren Sager Weinstein, head of analytics at Transport for London, which provided a brilliant insight into both the quantities of data that can be captured as well as the insight and leverage provided by analytics. The event also featured a panel discussion with the four founding associate members of the Data Analytics group; Experian, the Open Data Institute, Institute of Environmental Analytics, and 

The APPG on Data Analytics aims to create a hub of knowledge on the subject of data analytics in Parliament and to inform Parliamentarians on the benefits of the sector. We aim to connect Parliamentarians, Government and policy makers with business, academia and civil society to improve policy making on 'Big Data'. We will do this through holding events in Parliament, bringing experts together for roundtable discussions and briefings, through conducting research on data policy and contributing to Government consultations.

There are three pillars to the group. First, what can be done to help UK business prosper, aid investment decisions and define the boundaries of competition. Second, to inform and empower the public on the collection and use of personal data, so they are willing participants in the new age. Third, to develop a world class education division to deliver a skills base to give the UK a leading role in the worldwide use and exploitation of data.

The APPG on Data Analytics is chaired by Daniel Zeichner MP (Labour) and includes Parliamentary Officers from across the political spectrum, including: the Earl of Erroll (Crossbench), Ben Howlett MP (Conservative), Calum Kerr MP (SNP), Lord Knight of Weymouth (Labour), Lord Oates (Liberal Democrat), Lord Sutherland of Houndwood (Crossbench), Stephen Timms MP (Labour) and Matt Warman MP (Conservative).