User login

The APPCOG welcomes three new officers

The APPCOG welcomes three new officers

21st November 2018

On the 20th November, the All-Party Parliamentary Carbon Monoxide Group (APPCOG) hosted its annual general meeting in Parliament. The APPCOG is very pleased to welcome three new officers; Alex Cunningham MP; Eddie Hughes MP; and Liz Twist MP.

The existing Co-Chairs (Barry Sheerman MP and Baroness Finlay of Llandaff) and officers were all unanimously re-elected. 

As well as holding their election, the officers also agreed to a work-plan leading to June 2019:

  • The APPCOG's will continue working with the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government on the Government’s ongoing CO alarm review to require private landlords to install CO alarms in properties with any fuel-burning appliance.

  • Furthermore, we are considering how the the upcoming RIIO-GD2 price control period can combat CO poisoning and contributing factors like fuel poverty.

  • The APPCOG will also explore policy areas now receiving increased public attention, including CO's impact on the brain and mental health, and CO safety in direct-booking accommodation; and

  • Lastly, we are looking to use our gathering power to bring together the CO industry and festival providers to improve the messaging of CO safety at festivals in Summer 2019. If you have worked on this before, or know someone who has, please email us.

The officers approved changes to the Advisory Board and APPCOG sub-group structure. In the new system, the Advisory Board will take increased responsibility for guiding the entire APPCOG’s work and improve the flow of information from the Working Groups. 

The APPCOG wants to take this opportunity thank all our Parliamentarians, associate members and supporters for their work in the past 12 months. We are incredibly excited to see what 2019 has in store for CO safe policy.